A few points on research


 

Many people would think that writing High Fantasy would not require research… that it is all just made up; invented, if you like.
But this is not the case…!
High Fantasy has a great world-wide following, and because of this it is actually more important to get the facts right than in any other genre.
So what does this actually mean?
… Well, there are certain intrinsic values embedded within the High Fantasy genre which must always be adhered to, e.g: good v evil, mythical creatures, magic, world-building, and several other significant matters.
So why are these things important?
The answer is simple. There are many fans of High Fantasy out there who would baulk at the idea of a badly researched tale.
Mythical creatures, for example, must seem to appear real. This means that the author must be on familiar terms with such things as: the fae folk, trolls, spirits, and of course dragons. It would be no use writing about a great drake without first knowing how they would move, eat, hunt, and even speak. All of this means reading and absorbing the subject matter ( writen by so many others over the years ) then puting your own unique spin on it
Then we come to world-building.
Unlike normal fiction which is predominately based on earth, most High Fantasy tales are acted out on some imaginary world. Once again this must have a “real” feel about it. Towns and cities must have a reasonable population, with proper marketing and trade. The construction of buildings must be consistant with available local materials, eg: if there are huge forests about then most houses would be of a wooden construction. Depending on the technical advancement of the world they may have used bricks and have proper slate on the roofs instead of thatch. So here it is wise to work out the equivolent era on earth and research the types of buildings that were around at that time. Distances between towns, and even diferent realms, must be worked out, along with a road/track network, as it will become apparent very quickly that your characters will be travelling to these places. Travelling times are also important; whether by foot, on horseback, or on a winged horse, which means you will need to know how easy each route will be, and if there are any obsticles that might add a day or two on to the journey.
And finally i come to the magic.
High Fantasy is usually full of magic users of some kind, whether they be the ubiquitous wizard, or a shaman, or a druid. But again, no matter what kind of magic is used it is important to do some research to make sure that what you write is going to sound as if it can really happen.
And that, of course, is the real trick with High Fantasy… making it seem real ! ! !
30 Comments

Filed under Adventure, Fantasy books, reading, sword and sorcery books, Uncategorized, writing

30 responses to “A few points on research

  1. Yes, it is creating the illusion of reality which is the trick, and those careful little details are like the conjurers sleight of hand. They mean that people somehow overlook the fact that everything is really made up.

  2. This is a great post and absolutely true. In fact, my research, or lack of it, is one of the main reasons I make up all the creatures in my books, from scratch. If I write a book with ‘proper’ mythical creatures in it I can imagine I will spend the rest of my days receiving irate e-mails from people who know more about the mythical creatures in question than I do, telling me I’ve done it wrong! 😉

    Cheers

    MTM

  3. thesilentblade

    Ah, MTM, your work is unique. You have no need to dable in the “real” myths, when you have great invention of your own. Best that we all stick to what we do best. Saddly i am stuck with such wonderful creatures as dragons, trolls, elves etc. And as such i must get things right. You, however, have created something new… there is no-one alive on this world that can question that ?

  4. I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This article posted at this web page is
    genuinely nice.

  5. Your style is unique compared to other folks I have read stuff from.
    I appreciate you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll
    just bookmark this site.

  6. Good blog you have got here.. It’s difficult to find quality writing like yours nowadays. I really appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  7. If some one wishes expert view regarding blogging afterward i
    propose him/her to pay a quick visit this web site, Keep up the nice job.

  8. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative.
    I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  9. Thanks in support of sharing such a good thinking, paragraph is pleasant, thats why i have read it fully

  10. If some one desires expert view regarding running
    a blog afterward i advise him/her to pay a visit this weblog, Keep up the nice work.

  11. I am genuinely pleased to read this webpage posts
    which includes lots of useful data, thanks for providing
    such statistics.

  12. Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new
    initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to
    work on. You have done a extraordinary job!

  13. Hi there, I desire to subscribe for this weblog to
    obtain latest updates, thus where can i do it please help out.

    • thesilentblade

      Hi, if you scroll down slowly from the top of the page you should find a “Follow” button. If you click on that it should allow you to follow all of the posts in the blog. Thank you for your interest.

  14. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance. I must say that you’ve done a superb
    job with this. In addition, the blog loads very quick for me on Firefox.
    Excellent Blog!

  15. Howdy very nice web site!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .
    . I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds also? I’m glad to seek out so many
    useful information right here within the post, we want work out
    extra techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

  16. Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been
    blogging for? you make blogging look easy.

    The overall look of your site is great, as
    well as the content!

  17. Saved as a favorite, I love your website!

  18. Zak

    Hello there I am so thrilled I found your webpage, I really found
    you by error, while I was searching on Aol for something else, Anyways I am here
    now and would just like to say thank you for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog
    (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have saved it
    and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic jo.

  19. If you are going for best contents like me, just go to see this site everyday for
    the reason that it presents quality contents, thanks

  20. Hey! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  21. May I simply say what a comfort to discover somebody who actually knows what they are discussing on the net.
    You actually understand how to bring an issue
    to light and make it important. More people ought to look at this and
    understand this side of your story. I was
    surprised that you aren’t more popular since you surely possess the gift.

  22. You made some good points there. I checked on the internet for more info about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views
    on this web site.

  23. Leo

    Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification
    appeared to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about
    worries that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole
    thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  24. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you’re
    a great author. I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will eventually come back at some point.

    I want to encourage you continue your ggreat posts, have a nice afternoon!

  25. fantastic issues altogether, you just won a logo new reader.
    What may you suggest in regards to your put up that you made some days ago?
    Any sure?

  26. Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a
    quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading through your blog posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects?
    Thanks a ton!

Leave a Reply

